PLATTSBURGH, N.Y. – Fayetteville-Manlius earned the Class A sweep at the New York State Public High School Athletic Association cross country championships in Plattsburgh Saturday morning.

The F-M boys placed three runners in the top four spots for a sharp 42-point score followed closely by Shenendehowa with 62 as its opening trio crossed the line 9-10-11, respectively.

The Fayetteville-Manlius girls squad scored an equally impressive score of 34 with four runners finishing in the top 10 followed by Saratoga Springs High School second with 40 and its own quartet of runners finishing in the top 10, but edged out in the final spot of scoring.

The Plainsmen were led by senior Bryan Spence who covered the course in 15 minutes, 10.8 seconds in 23rd-place overall and ninth in team points followed by sophomore Nathan Brimhall 24th at 15:11.1 and senior Ryan Shanahan 30th-overall at 15:16.5. Junior Anthony Barbera was 44th at 15:24.3 and senior Kyle Gronau rounded-out the scoring with his 46th-place finish at 15:24.4.

Senior Lorenzo ran 64th at 15:47.8 and senior Griffin Cooke was 67th at 15:50.8.

In the girls Class A championship race sophomore Ella Kurto led the Blue Streaks with her sixth-place finish overall, fourth in the team scoring. The freshman pair of Sheridan Wheeler and McKinley Wheeler finished together 11th and 12th-place overall at 16:57 and 16:58, respectively. Freshman McKenzie Hart was 21st-overall at 17:24.6 and eighth-grader Anya Belisle 24th at 17:26.1 to round out the scoring.

Sophomore Catherine Mongan finished 24th overall at 17:27.9 and eighth-grader Emily Bush finished 26th overall at 17:35.2.

Racing as an individual at the Boys Class A NYSPHSAA championship race, Guilderland senior Sean O’Brien finished 12th overall with a time of 14:57.9, senior teammate Jack Parsons was 18th at 15:05.3. Niskayuna senior Thomas Ragone was 26th-overall at 15:13.4 followed by Shaker junior Francisco Mendonca 27th at 15:14.0. Niskayuna sophomore Julian Franjieh was 55th at 15:40.1.

Running as an individual in the Class A girls race, Shaker senior Tori Mariano was seventh-overall at 16:48.6. Bethlehem freshman Rylee Davis was 13th at 16:59.6 followed by Shaker eighth-grader Leonni Griffin 15th at 17:05.9. Shenendehowa senior Jada Dennis was 18th at 17:13.5 followed by Ballston Spa senior Faith Demars was 20th overall at 17:17.1.

The Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake boys cross country team wrapped up its fourth-straight NYSPHSAA title Saturday morning, finishing a step in front of Pittsford-Mendon, 44-49.

Pittsford senior Sam Lawler captured the boys overall B title in 14:26.1 with Spartan Ryan Allison finished third overall at 14:46.4, Will Marchant eighth overall at 15:07.6. Senior Kevin Board was 14th at 15:12.4, Matthew Rounds was 25th at 15:27.0 and Dante Ubriaco finishing 41st overall at 15:46.3, 20th in the team points to help secure the win. Sophomore Nick Grock was 68th at 16:15.2 with senior Mikhail Troyan was 84th at 16:39.2.

The Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake girls squad finished third-overall with 98 points, just behind second-place squad Pearl River with 76 and Class B champion East Aurora with 50 points.

The Spartans were led by eighth-grader Mia Paolino’s 17th-place overall time, eighth in the team standings in 17:49.2. Sophomore Jamison Vendetti was 25th at 18:03.1 followed by sophomore Emily Berg 28th at 18:04.6. Junior Madison Whited was 62nd overall at 19:08.1 followed by junior Madison Smith 70th at 19:12.7.

Sophomore Isabel Vogel was 71st-overall at 19:15.9 followed by senior Billie McClosky 84th at 19:56.8.

Running as individuals in boys Class B championship race, junior Noah Greski was 18th at 15:16.1, senior teammate Kyle Ostrander was 44th at 15:47.3 and Tartan junior Alex Tebano 55th at 15:57.4. Averill Park senior Noah Bonesteel was 74th at 16:25.9 and Amsterdam junior Trevor Dzikowicz was 88th at 16:46.8.

Running as individuals in the Class B girls championship race, Mohonasen junior Kate Sherman was seventh overall at 17:38.5 followed by Scotia-Glenville freshman Stephanie James 29th at 18:06.9. Averill Park freshman Logan Barsalow was 31st in the race in 18:11.2 with Mohonasen senior Emma Sinisgalli 39th at 18:22.2 and Emma Willard senior Skylar Dailey 59th at 19:03.9.

In Class C boys, Fonda-Fultonville finished ninth-overall with 222 points as Saranac Lake was crowned the state champion with a 28-point total, including four runners in the top 10.

LaSalle Institute sophomore Glitch Hayes finished in an impressive second in 14:46.2 just behind Skaneateles junior and champion Caleb Bender at 14:41.6. Stillwater senior John Gannon was 43rd overall at 16:10.4, Schuylerville sophomore Daryl Headen was 86th at 16:49.1 and Catholic Central senior Spencer Daley was 97th overall at 17:04.5.

Greenwich was beaten by a single-place finisher in the girls Class C championship, losing out to Camden, 77-75.

The Witches were led by senior Brynne Wright’s fifth-place overall finish in 17:15.6 followed by junior Tess Fitzmaurice in 17th overall at 18:09.4, seniors Brooke Wright 34th at 18:36.3 and Quinn Collins 35th at 18:36.9 and freshman Tegan Wright’s 41st-place time of 18:48.7.

Sophomore Emily Skiff was 43rd at 18:50.4 and freshman Biley Bain was 47th overall at 19:09.4.

Running as individuals, Schuylerville senior Megan Vianese was 60th overall at 19:26.2.

In Class D, Lake George finished in sixth-place with 151 points behind Beaver River who ran away with the state title with 26-points.

Galway senior Holden Decker finished 34th-overall with his 16:35.1 run Saturday and Maple Hill senior Noah Albanese was 43rd at 16:55.1.

In the Class D girls championships, Berlin finished fourth overall with 126 points as Delhi captured the state title with 50 points for its finishers.

Hoosic Valley freshman Lily Czub was fourth overall in Class D with her time of 17:59.7.

comments powered by Disqus